This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The sills were forced to be oversized due to the location of the threaded anchors, which were not quite precisely located.  Although heavy, I must say I enjoy their substantial appearance.  Before placing the sills, termite shields were placed on the piers and stem walls.  These are metal sheets used to prevent subterranean termites from boring up through the foundation walls, undetected, and accessing the framing.

Construction started early, around 6 am, which by rule is not cool.  The neighbors so far have been quite accommodating, and I hope we can return to the legal 7am starting time. No need to have enemies before I even move in.  With many workers on site, I can see that the framing will likely go up quite quickly.  This is good with the heart of hurricane season soon arriving.

